Thursday, March 22, 2012

CEAL Election 2012 Results

Dear colleagues,

It was a pleasure to see many of you in Toronto. Hope you had a pleasant trip back to your home. For those of you who were unable to attend the annual meeting, I am sharing with you the election results.
  • Ms. Ellen Hammond of Yale University has been elected Vice President/President-elected 2012-2014
  • Mr. Kenneth Klein of University of Southern California has been elected Secretary with a three-year term 2012-2015.
  • Ms. Hee-sook Shin of Columbia University has been elected Treasurer 2012-2015
  • Ms. Toshie Marra of UCLA and Ms. Wen-ling Liu of Indiana University have been elected Members-at-Large 2012-2015
Congratulations to all these five newly elected EB members. We trust that they will make invaluable contributions to our organization.

This year, we received 19 nominations, among which 10 were selected as the candidates for the five seats on the Executive Board. For the election, we distributed 146 ballots to current CEAL members, and received 109 finished ballots at a 75% response rate. I want to thank again to those of you who participated in the nomination and election.

I also want to thank my teammates for their dedicated work in making the election another success. My teammates include--
  • Election Committee members - Mikyung Kang and Setsuko Noguchi
  • Ex-officio members-Joy Kim, Peter Zhou, and Beth Katzoff
  • Treasurer -Ai-lin Yang
  • The Chair of Membership -- Hikaru Nakano
  • The Chair of Library Technology – Robert Britt.
See you next year in San Diego.


Ying Zhang, Ph.D.
Research Librarian for Asian Studies
University of California Irvine Libraries
P.O. Box 19557, Irvine, CA 92623-9557
Phone: 949.824.0489
fax: 949.824.0605
Offices: Langson Library Room 466, 109 

No comments:

Post a Comment